Forum rules
Reminder: Copying another person's art without permission to reproduce their work is a form of art-theft!

Click here to see the full Art Rules!
Need help using the Oekaki? Check out this Guide to the Oekaki!

how to paint eyes, a tutorial by etho

Artist etho [gallery]
Time spent 41 minutes
Drawing sessions 1
7 people like this Log in to vote for this drawing

how to paint eyes, a tutorial

Postby etho » Thu Dec 08, 2016 7:06 pm

I posted an eye yesterday and thought I'd make a tutorial while I'm at it, lol.
i actually did this super quick, the thing that took the most time was takings screenshots of the progress of the eye :/
im not a complete expert on doing eyes but i thought id make a tutorial of what i know so far

anyway, here's a quick gif playthrough? of the eye.

now i will explain what i did, step by step.

step 1

before i start, i recommend everyone to start painting only with the color grey. if you don't know how to paint an eye with only grey, you are not ready to use color. painting greyscale will greatly expand your knowledge of greyscale painting and how to make your paintings more three dimensional. simply put: dark greys are shadows, light greys and lights, together they make an object seem three dimensional.

i am using the PEN tool with these settings.

this is your sketch, your backbone of the painting. there's really no way out trying to perfect the shape of an eye, just look at pictures of eyes are try to draw the general shape. remember, there is a "ledge" where your bottom eyelid is, and i think a lot of people forget this in their drawings. same with the top eyelid as well.

step 2

i am using the AIRBRUSH tool with these settings. i will be using the airbrush tools with the settings to the side for the rest of this painting.

lay down your base shadows, along with the iris.