The Test. Please Read, Posting welcome

Are you a writer or a poet? Come and share your creations with us, or discuss writing techniques with others
Forum rules
Please only post your own original work, do not post poetry or stories which were written by someone else.

What do you think?

Love it! Keep going!
80%
It's cool.
13%
It's ok...
No votes
Not my kind of thing.
3%
Didn't really like it.
No votes
Um.. Don't quit your day job.
3%

Total votes : 30

The Test. Please Read, Posting welcome

Postby hazelnut » Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:27 pm

Um So yeah, I'm new to writing stories and really want some proper (and harsh) criticism. Depending on interest I'll see how far I get with this. Yeah I know the Prologue is kind of odd, I might have just used something I had to write for school.
Guess I should put a warning in, There is Violence and Death.

Index-
X Prologue
X Chapter One
X Chapter Two
X Chapter Three
X Chapter Four
X Chapter Five
X Chapter Six
X Chapter Seven

A shrill bell awakes me. My hands involuntarily clasp my ears against it’s piercing noise, but they are useless to stop the pain it creates.
This is the fiftieth bell. It is just like everyone before it, positioned exactly one hour after the last. Just like everyone before it it will last a full three minutes. After, I’ll get a headache that stay around for who knows how long. Then, if I’m lucky, I might get some sleep. For a little while at least. Why am I here? I didn’t pass the test.
The test is designed to find the best of civilisation. Those who don’t pass are sent here to The Facility.

The year was 3621 and the world was overcrowded. Famine, disease and poverty were seemingly unavoidable epidemics. In an attempt to control the problem, birth of children was monitored. The rule of one child per couple was introduced. At first people were eager to do their patriotic part to save the world, but it wasn’t long before the rules were broken and the problem returned.