Based on Click to view
Artist Ki-Mono [gallery]
Time spent 3 hours, 6 minutes
Drawing sessions 10
14 people like this Log in to vote for this drawing

Character Design

Postby Ki-Mono » Sat Sep 21, 2019 10:34 am

Yeet. Finally done!
I honestly love character design and I hope I am starting to get better at it. I enjoy taking old or bad designs of things and trying to change them to be better.
If you don't like her please let me know because I have grown a little attached to this concept lol

To break down my thought process:
I created a centaur, simply because I love centaurs.
I made the character black in order to stick with the color scheme of the OG. A black tiger would obviously be a black woman. (Forgive me for I am not experienced with drawing people of color).
Gears seemed to be important to the OG design, so I knew I had to keep them in some way. I tossed around several concepts, but settled on making the centaur part robotic. This opens up some fun background creating I feel, on how she lost her original lower half.
Her collar and fur on her chest became a fun armor piece. I'm sure there is a name for this type of armor, but I don't know it. I made it up as I went, but I'm pretty sure it exists.
Bandages around her tail became a wrap for her chest.
And I kept some green in the color scheme. I dispersed it more fully around the body, so it wouldn't stick out too bad in just one place.
It was hard to see exactly what was going on with her jewelry, since it was black and blended in. So I made the chains gold, so they would stand out. I also made up some new face jewelry, since I felt it important for her to keep it.
As for the wings, I went back and forth many times on whether to add them or not. But when I finally settled on a centaur design, I knew adding wings too would just be too much. So instead I gave her wing tattoos on her back.