Forum rules
Reminder: Copying another person's art without permission to reproduce their work is a form of art-theft!

Click here to see the full Art Rules!
Need help using the Oekaki? Check out this Guide to the Oekaki!

Nebula tutorial by Vazchu

Based on Click to view
Artist Vazchu [gallery]
Time spent 1 hour, 6 minutes
Drawing sessions 3
6 people like this Log in to vote for this drawing

Nebula tutorial

Postby Vazchu » Thu Apr 15, 2021 7:30 am

Hello there, it's been ages. Here Vaz comes again with a doodle while being sick at home. And I've been looking through my gallery a lot lately, thus I realized that I never got far with the tutorial stuff I had plans of doing. The descriptions for each step will be below, since I didn't have enough space left to write anything (and I'm not very good at writing with the computer mouse).

And there's no need to ask if you may use this tutorial for your paintings, just use it if you feel like trying it. (:
Also, this is just how I have been painting nebulas since I started using this oekaki painter, there's probably lots of other ways to do it.

Step 1
Start with a plain black background and choose a bunch of colours you like. Some darker and some lighter.
I went with turquoise and blue shades this time.
Start sketching out the lighter parts on a new layer (in case you want to add in more shades to the plain black background later) of your nebula with the darkest shade you chose.

I usually use a round soft brush around size 6-10 at this point. Sometimes I add around 25% of "scattering" on it. And also have the opacity quite low, what you use is up to your preference though.

Step 2-4
Keep building up the lighter parts of the nebula and switch to the lighter shades as you do. I did this while using the turquoise shade.
Still size 6 on the brush after a while and stopped using "scattering". Still on low opacity.

Step 5