Forum rules
Reminder: Copying another person's art without permission to reproduce their work is a form of art-theft!

Click here to see the full Art Rules!
Need help using the Oekaki? Check out this Guide to the Oekaki!

Sky Stuff! by clouds-move-on

Artist clouds-move-on [gallery]
Time spent 43 minutes
Drawing sessions 1
25 people like this Log in to vote for this drawing

Sky Stuff!

Postby clouds-move-on » Thu Jul 14, 2016 10:25 am

So a user asked me how I designed this kitty and so here we go! Small tutorial, hope it helps some of you!

DISCLAIMER:
I am not really an expert on skys. ouo But this is my style and I hope it helps inspire others to develop theirs.
Also, feel free to go nuts and experiment further!
Art doesn't have any exact rules, it's your imagination afterall! Go for it.

- - -

First, draw the base colors. The sky is lighter to the ground and darker as it goes higher, both day and night! You can go with any typical sky colors, from blues, to blacks, to sunset hues.

Usually I use the PEN brush (any visible opacity) to make the stars. Draw each individually. The scatter brush helps sometimes, if set high enough,along with spacing, but I suggest first doing as many individually as possible. Use brush size 1 or 2 for most stars. Also, draw some bigger and some smaller, and some like a “sparkle” or + shape. White and off-white colors, as well as yellows, work best!

To make it look more “sparkly” duplicate the star layer and set it on overlay. Then use the “blur” tool (shaped like a teardrop) to blur it; make sure afterwards to set lock alpha on the layers and recolor the new blurred marks completely white (as oekaki makes blurred images have black edges).

After that, lower the opacity of the non-blurred stars (try not to go beyond the 40s). You can also duplicate the blur level to brighten it! For extra sparkle, use the “add” layer setting, although be careful, and be sure to put the opacity down or it might look too stark.