telliny with steampunk by Apple Cider.

Based on Click to view
Artist Apple Cider. [gallery]
Time spent 57 minutes
Drawing sessions 2
2 people like this Log in to vote for this drawing

telliny with steampunk

Postby Apple Cider. » Wed Feb 01, 2012 3:39 pm

it's my first try on steam punk so sorry for the crappy-ness. :/ anyways, the spider is her companion named sparrow. he helps her with navigation and alerts her when danger is near. she created most of her gadgets.

on her mouth is a metal mask and the thing covering her left eye, is a magnifier. her foot, well just a metal foot, for design. she likes it. it's actually light weight.

can any of you guys how to improve my steampunk drawings? this is the first one and i din't know how well i did it. thanks, TRT

My pets
My items
My wishlist
My gallery
My scenes
My dressups
Trade with me

Re: telliny with steampunk

Postby .Magpie. » Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:34 pm

I think you did it quite well, especially on the spider. The design isn't as crowded as others I've seen, and there's a nice absence of "cosmetic"/pointless gears. ^_^
As for improvement? A bit of shading, a bit of highlighting, and a steadier hand on the circles (like in the magnefier) is all I recommend. Also, making the outlines darker than the objects, rather than the objects darker than the outlines.

My question is about the character herself: what's the purpose of everything?
Is she nearsighted or partially blind? (which would explain the need for a magnefier and guide spider.) Why does she wear a mask? How does she keep it on? Can it be removed at all? (If not, how does she eat?) Does the boot/foot-thing somehow enhance her movement? If so, how? (If it makes her a bit faster, why use strangely large gears, rather than a modified version of modern prosthetic legs? Although I'm probably dead wrong on the purpose, since it's only on one hind foot and not both...)