Based on Click to view
Artist Cerulean Wake [gallery]
Time spent 6 minutes
Drawing sessions 1
46 people like this Log in to vote for this drawing

Character design tips???

Postby Cerulean Wake » Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:01 pm

saccharin wrote:Do you have any tips for designing characters? :0

Ok, first of all I'm not an expert. If you've seen my "color in a palette and get a character" thing I originally started that to get better at designing characters- but here's some knowledge I've picked up!

1) In general, do not use clashing colors.

2) pick one thing to make the focus. If you have wings, and goggles, and a tail, and a sword, and long flowing hair, and a scarf, and earrings, and fancy shoes, and glitter, your character will look like a jumbled mess. Up on the left, the character has bright colors all over the place, the eye can't focus on one thing. On the right, the character has a dark red as an accent which emphasizes the heart on its chest. If you draw the person's focus to the most important aspect of a character, I think it makes them more memorable and appealing.

3) Use references. References for clothing and such help a ton. 10/10 would recommend drawing from life 24/7 as much as possible.

I can't really think of any more tips at the moment! If you have any more questions feel free.
Last edited by Cerulean Wake on Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

keep making art
keep making art
keep making art
keep making art
keep making art
keep making art
keep making art
keep making art
keep making art
keep making art
keep making art
Cerulean Wake

My pets
My items
My wishlist
My gallery
My scenes
My dressups
Trade with me

Re: Character design tips???

Postby AngelSami » Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:41 pm

I'd like to make a rebuttal for point one and say that using saturated colors is A-okay sometimes.
Your example is on point. That's a pretty good example of what not to do.